carefree

The sails gently pulled us along under sunny Caribbean skies. The piercing blue of the ocean was almost indistinguishable from the heavens above.

Always one to be absolutely in the moment, Jim nevertheless took nothing for granted.

“June, too soon,” he laughingly told me. “July, stand by.”

I looked quizzically at him. 

He continued, “August, I must. September, remember.” He finished with, “October, it’s over.”

“What’s that all about?” I asked. 

“Hurricanes. As gorgeous as this day is, we still have to think about where we’re heading. When hurricane season hits, we want to be sure of a safe harbor.”

###

Jim’s words in the drabble above are a rendition of the old sailor’s adage regarding hurricanes. Apparently, it is based on the “Mariner’s Poem on Hurricanes,” found in the book Weather Lore by Richard Inwards, 1898, which goes:

June too soon.
July standby.
August look out you must.
September remember.
October all over.

Many thanks to Eugie’s Causerie for the inspiration of this week’s prompt, “August.”

13 thoughts on “carefree

  1. How enjoyable and I love that I learned something new. I’ve not heard of the “Mariner’s Poem on Hurricanes,” Being born and raised in Florida, I can relate. Thank you for joining in.

  2. Here is another sailor‘s adage for you Nancy: red sky at night, sailor’s delight; red sky in morning, sailor‘s warning. Carefree but being mindful as well.

  3. Pingback: “August” prompt participants – earth sky air; thoughts and entanglements; Joseph Mason; I Believe, BECAUSE – – Eugi's Causerie I

  4. We live by this every year. A new line needs to be added for November because it truly isn’t over until November 30th now. Then there was 2005 where hurricane season went into January and went all the way into “Z” for names. This season is scary because we are up to “J” and it’s just August. Nice post! 🙂

    1. Thank you so much, and I hear you! Very scary season predicted this year. And I agree with you, I have long thought there needs to be something for November in the adage.🌷

  5. Pingback: Eugi’s Weekly Word Prompt – “Fairy” August 10, 2020 – Eugi's Causerie I

Leave a comment